Scott B. Bomar

Red Simpson
Hello, I'm Red Simpson (5-CD set)

Reissue Producer: Scott B. Bomar
Album Notes: Scott B. Bomar

Buy now at

* Selected by The New York Times as a "Critic's Pick" among the best CD box sets of the year.
* Listed by the staff at All Music Guide as a "
Favorite Box Set" of the year.  
* Selected by critic Stephen Thomas Erlewine a
s his favorite reissue of the year: "There were no reissues that I enjoyed more than Bear Family's complete box set of truck driving country king Red Simpson." 

"If you like underdog stories and 18-wheelers, make room in your life for this boxed set. In the Bakersfield hard-country scene of the 1960s Buck Owens was clearly the boss: bandleader, singer, songwriter, publisher, celebrity. But in the circle of creativity around him there was Red Simpson, a singer-songwriter who took his own talent much less seriously, and almost accidentally ended up as one of the four giants of truck-driving music."
- Ben Ratliff, New York Times

"Five discs of solid gold 1960s an '70s Bakersfield truck-drivin' country."
- Mojo magazine

"A very thorough text from Scott B. Bomar, photographs from Red himself and the usual extensive discography provide the listener with everything he or she needs to enjoy the music."
- Now Dig This

Red Simpson made a name for himself in country music with a string of blacktop anthems like Roll Truck RollThe Highway Patrol, Diesel Smoke, Dangerous Curves, Country Western Truck Drivin' Singer, Awful Lot To Learn About Truck Drivin', and Truck Driver's Heaven. He popularized the romanticized image of the trucker as a modern-day cowboy of the open road. But there was much more to Red Simpson. Raised in Bakersfield, California, Red was at the center of the vibrant honky tonk scene that spawned Buck Owens and Merle Haggard. A multi-instrumentalist who composed hundreds of songs, Red Simpson earned a reputation as one of the West Coast's most respected songwriters. Buck and Merle recorded more than 40 of Red Simpson's songs, including Top 10 hits such as Gonna Have Love, Sam's Place, Kansas City Song, Close Up The Honky Tonks, and You Don't Have Very Far To Go

This set includes all of Red Simpson's recordings from 1957 until 1984, giving a comprehensive look at the artist Bob Dylan called "the forgotten man of Bakersfield." All the songs on his seven Capitol LPs are here, together with his singles for Capitol, Portland, and independent labels. All of his hit singles are included, as are unreleased Capitol masters, eighteen previously unissued demo recordings, Red Simpson's own versions of hits he wrote for Buck Owens, and dozens of songs that appear on CD for the first time. This set also contains a 108-page hardcover book that features a complete discography, many unseen photos, and a detailed biography documenting the colorful and sometimes volatile career of the truck music poet.